A Christmas Pledge

Help Yourself to My Life!

 

“Help yourself to my life”, Mary seemed to say,

never knowing full well how her life would change.

But if seedling faith moves mountains, Mary moved them well,

Believing in her God that day by saying “help yourself”.

Giving up dreams she’d made, letting God change her plans,

taking a road unmarked, going to Bethlehem.

 

“Help yourself to my life”, Joseph bowed his head,

knowing what God asked of him, he could not understand.

But if ever hope was living, in his heart it swelled,

trusting in his God that day by saying “help yourself”.

Giving up all he knew, trusting in righteous plans,

taking a wife with child, walking to Bethlehem.

 

“Help yourself to my life”, God announced with stars,

even from a manger bed, he could see the scars.

But if ever love was given?  Only God knew how,

loving us with all his might and saying “help yourself”!

Giving up his only son, planning his birth and death,

watching him take his cross, out of Jerusalem.

 

“Help yourself to my life”, I can hear him say…..

 

So will I be a Mary, will I be a Joseph strong and brave?

Will I stand to follow when he calls my name?

And will I give up all my dreams, just to have him use me?

Jesus you know me so well, will I say “help yourself”?

Jesus you know me so well, will I say “Help Yourself”?

©Cindy Palin

Leave a Reply

