What is Your Mirror Telling You?

My bedroom mirror needs a pet name, she’s awfully kind to me.  When I get dressed for the day, quite often I’ll stop to take in a full view, and for some reason she always says “pretty”.  My body isn’t my pre-children shape, so how can I feel pretty?  Where do I find the strength to actually linger and take in all the wrinkles and stretch marks?  Perhaps it’s because my last glance always ends where the upturned corners of my mouth are.  That reality is more than evidence of “just” a positive attitude but a supernatural truth that dwells within me and guides my life.

Reality tells me that I’m actually times two of what I see reflected in my mirror, but that mirror and I know the incredible journey behind each imperfection.  More importantly Jesus, who in-dwells inside of my spirit keeps shifting my focus to health rather than obsession, eternal purpose rather than temporary possession.

I never knew my waist was going to disappear, kind of took that one for granted on account that my mother still has her’s!  But now I work on making sure I don’t have love handles.  Those sit ups aren’t going to carve out 24 inches anymore, but I’m going to be able to tie my future grandchildren’s shoes with joy!

I never thought I’d have difficulty with my hips, but then I remember my genetic makeup.  My gentle walking down the street isn’t going to cause heads to turn, but my husband appreciates my efforts, and shouldn’t he be my main concern?

But then again, I never expected to be this happy.  I never expected to be so in-love.  I never knew I could be full of this much joy as a size twelve with 49-year-old laugh lines and less than perfect legs!  Not only am I living and breathing – I feel as though I was just born, like I have my whole life ahead of me!

I’ve never felt younger than I do today.  Thank you Jesus!

 

 

Leave a Reply

