Happiness is….

I use to say happiness was finding a matching pair of clean white socks, and it still is, but I can sure add a thing or two, to that phrase today.  I turned 50 this year, a milestone moment, or how my youngest says “Mom – you’re half dead”.  But I feel more alive and happy than I ever have before, and I think I know why.

It isn’t that all my dreams have come true.  Some haven’t and some may never come true.  But my best friend’s dreams for my life are well under way and I have to say – He knows best.

Trust in the Lord and do good;

dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.

Take delight in the Lord,

and he will give you the desires of your heart.

(Psalm 37: 3,4 NIV)

God seeds His dreams (purpose) in our hearts while we are formed in the womb.  We get a glimpse of those dreams when we are children.  As we get older we begin to try to understand who we are, and where we fit, and how we might live out those dreams.  As a wife and a mother today, I know that without my full surrender and trust in God’s will, I would have wandered off chasing a dream that wasn’t intended for me at all.

I believe as we seek first His Kingdom, we get to know the dream giver better.   As we get to know Him better, we want nothing more than to glorify Him.  And that is the magic moment, when we realize He is the dream fulfilled.  He is more than enough, and everything else we thought was so dang important just fades away.

Kind of blows “happiness” out of the water, doesn’t it?

You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you! (Isaiah 26:3 NLT)

Leave a Reply

