Julie & Julia or Cindy & the Closet? An Introduction

I like the kind of mornings when I hear him speak to me before my eyes are even open.  I was dreaming, getting baptized, again?  The church I was in resembled more of a water slide circus.  I was waiting in line for my turn and questioning if I had used the first half of my life in a positive way, and if I was going to be able to accomplish anything worth while in the second half?  Then I heard his voice, “it isn’t about making a name for yourself, but getting to know me”. There it was.  We spend so much time doing things for the wrong reasons, worrying about stuff that doesn’t even matter.  Regardless of what I have or have not accomplished back then, or now – I am getting to know God more every day.

Speaking of accomplishing things.  I have this idea.  Down under the stairs are three or four shelves chalk full of stuff, kind of like a junk drawer or the proverbial forbidden closet.  I’ve been wanting to tackle those shelves for years.  It seems wanting to do something and actually doing something about it are two different things.  Today, I decided to  approach my dilemma like Julie Powell approached her passion.  You know – the 2009 movie about the young writer and aspiring chef who cooked a recipe a day, inspired by Julia Child’s first cookbook? My project doesn’t have anything to do with cooking, but it is a day-to-day commitment much like Julie’s was.  I am going to take one object off of the shelf per day and write about it, and then deal with the object, throw it away, or recycle it.

The challenge will definitely be in the writing.  Julie Powell’s blogging about her daily cooking adventures was superb!  If I’m really ambitious and not too embarrassed I might even include photos – maybe.

My timeline?  I have no idea how long it will take, but I have a feeling it won’t be the 365 days it took Julie.  I’ll feel so much better when the shelves are empty.  I will then tear them down and my carpenter husband and I will come up with a more efficient use of the space, AND this project has no extra calories involved!  It’s a win – win!

Leave a Reply

