Lofty Ideas and gods Made of Green

They dismiss my words, cause I’m getting older, granted

I can hear just fine.

And my best friend tells me, it’s gonna get lonely,

it’s just a matter of time.

Lofty ideas, and gods made of green,

have thrown his wisdom to the wind.

Momentary pleasure be their king,

until trouble comes again.

I forget his face but for a second,

then I turn, and see him die.

He knew then what it took to carry

his cross, and so must I.

Lofty ideas and gods made of green,

can have their season in the sun.

Momentary pleasure be their king,

until His Kingdom comes!

Leave a Reply

