Nothing Like Your Love

A dear friend of mine and I met up this summer for an all too but overdue evening of catch-up. Before we got into the details of one another’s lives, I wanted to make sure I offered my sympathies for her loss. A previous Sunday announcement informed our church family that her sister lost a son. Her Mother and Father lost a grand-son, and that meant my friend lost a nephew.

Approaching the restaurant door we were already full-on in the depths of discussion. We talked about whether or not her sister’s family were believers in Christ. My friend went on to share that her nephew had taken his life, and asked out loud “but is the merciful God we serve one to count that against him?”

I remember answering I was relieved to know we are not his judge and jury. We don’t see the big picture, and we cannot know what is going on in someone else’s heart. Only God truly knows.

That night when we went home to our families I couldn’t help but feel angry. Where was this young man’s friends when he needed them? Why didn’t he ask for help? His family loved him, he mattered to so many people. I ached for his mother, and prayed that God would hand pick people to minister to her in the hours, days and years to come.

I thought back to when I was growing up. After graduation I was afraid for the future, unsure of where to begin, and where to go. I felt alone and confused. My faith in God was immature. I wasn’t sure I could trust Him, or anything I had learned in Sunday School. People could be cruel, the world could be cruel. Where did I belong, and how was I going to survive?

The day after our visit I had some quiet time available and felt compelled to write a song. Sometimes we can’t explain what is going on in our head when we are grieving. I was grieving for this young man’s life, and his mother’s pain. At the same time I was revisiting how difficult I had found life growing up.

As my fingers touched the keys, and I began to sing – all I could think about was how loving and patient God had been, and is with me always. It took me a long time to trust him, and believe in his love, his truth, and his word. But there is no better friend. There is nothing like HIs love.

“Nothing Like Your Love”

I sold my soul, You bought it back, I sold my soul again.

I dug the hole, you pulled me out, there is no better friend.

There’s something to your truth, somethin’ to your word, something ’bout the way you love.

And everything I thought mattered in this world, is nothing, no, no, nothing like your love.

You called my name, and I cried out, You gave me something new.

You set my feet on solid ground, and said you’d see me through.

There’s something to your truth, something ’bout your word, something ’bout the way you love.

And everything I thought mattered in this world, is nothing, no, no, nothing like your love.

©CindyPalin,July 2015

I am in the process of recording this song and plan to post a link soon.

Leave a Reply

