In the quiet of a home away from home, I kneel to pray.

Some of my appendages are walking in other time zones, breathing in different climates, watching the world through unique eyes.

As I lift their names up one by one I see their faces. I imagine the palm trees, and feel the heat radiating through her skin.

I see the cobble streets and damp London air swirling around him.

Here in the city I see a young mother resting with her child in the early morning hours, with another in her belly, getting in those last few seconds of shut eye that will carry her through the day and the night.

I see two men side by side with their hammers and frost in their beards.

This Christmas I ask for strange but wondrous gifts for them. Presents that first came wrapped in stars, and teeming waters.

I pray they will hear their Creator, and see him all around them.

For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities–his eternal power and divine nature–have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse (Romans 1:20).

I pray that they will hear their Savior’s words…

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you” (Deuteronomy 31:6).

I pray that we together, a family – whether near or far – will always acknowledge him, accept His mercy that came as a child in a manger, surrender to His authority, and become disciplined agents of His love.

 

“..in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight” (Proverbs 3:6).

My heart wells up within me, with great joy because….

“For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord” (Luke 2:11).

 

Mom/Cindy

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

